About the Court

The 14th Judicial District includes Chautauqua and Montgomery Counties with courthouses in Independence, Coffeyville and Sedan.  The three district court judges and one magistrate judge hear cases throughout the district on numerous areas of the law including, civil, criminal, domestic, guardianship and conservatorship, juvenile, administration and probate, and small claims matters.  The Clerk of the District Court and Deputy Clerks serve as the court's official record keeper, maintaining the dockets, filing and processing all papers filed with the court, and issuing all writs and orders.

The district has six Court Services officers that provide probation supervision and related services.  Their primary duty is serving the court, the court process, and public safety.  They perform adult and juvenile probation supervision, bond supervision, domestic mediation and investigations, and prepare presentence investigation reports for the court.