Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Some of the judges will perform wedding ceremonies at the courthouse. The bride and/or groom may request contact information when the application is made for the marriage license. The couple will need to schedule an appointment with a judge after the marriage license has been purchased.
Show All Answers
The bride and/or the groom must come to the District Court office and complete both an application for a marriage license and confidential cover sheet. Both parties must be at least 18 years of age or special consent by a parent, guardian and/or a judge is required. The information required to make application is:
The applicant(s) will be sworn under oath that the facts stated within the application are true and correct. The party making application will be given a worksheet to take home and complete. After waiting a minimum of 3 calendar days, the bride and/or groom will need to return the completed worksheet in person with the appropriate fee. The worksheet information is used to prepare the official marriage license.
The current cost of a marriage license is $85.50, but it is subject to change by the Kansas Legislature. The fee must be paid when the worksheet is returned for the preparation of the marriage license and must be remitted in cash; exact change is preferred. We cannot accept a debit / credit card or personal check for a marriage license fee.
No. A marriage license issued from any District Court office in Kansas is valid anywhere in Kansas. However, you must be married in the State of Kansas and you must give the officiant the official marriage license before the ceremony is performed.
When the license is issued, it will contain an expiration date which is six months from the date of the issuance of the license. You must get married within the six month time frame or begin the process anew should it expire.
The minimum age requirement is 18 years old. If any party under the age of 18 wishes to enter into marriage, please review the specific legal requirements per Kansas Family Law Code.
No. Blood tests are no longer required in the State of Kansas to obtain a marriage license.
No. Marriage license copies will not be issued without your request. To obtain a certified copy of your marriage license you may apply to the Bureau of Vital Statistics in Topeka, Kansas by visiting the Bureau of Vital Statistics website, or calling 877-305-8315. Payment shall be made by credit card.
The District Court office is prohibited from providing certified copies of marriage licenses. You must contact Kansas Vital Statistics.
An unofficial copy may be obtained through the Clerk of the District Court office by either of the parties involved in the marriage when a government issued photo identification is presented in person. This document will not be certified by the clerk and copies cannot be issued by mail.